Username: Password:    

latest release
latest band
latest update
Worse Than Failure
latest review

latest interview
Abandoned Elysium
Interview with Abandoned Elysium!

subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter.
site news
added relevant links to band info

updated bands navigation

banners in gigs section

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W X Ü Z Ä all
Search by    

Tharaphita – True Estonian pagan metal!

Created as a solo project of the vocalist-guitarist Ank, Tharaphita soon became one of the most unique Estonian pagan metal bands. The idea of Tharaphita was actually born in 1993 – at the time when the second wave black metal bands ruled the scene elsewhere in Europe. At the beginning, the band was planned to carry the name Ancestral Damnation, and the music to be raw black-metal. For different reasons, the idea somewhat changed and developed further until the first rehearsals with the initial line-up of Tharaphita in March 1995. It was also the period of choosing the name for the band.
In 1995, during August and September, the first rehearsal demo Must Viirastus was recorded. During the time, black-metal core of the music became complemented by pagan thinking, some epic elements and influences of heavy and thrash metal. The lyrics are mainly in Estonian, which is important in our identity.
The first gig of Tharaphita took place in 18.05.1996. For now, there have been more than 80 gigs, also in other Baltic states, Finland and Norway, besides the homeland Estonia. The stage has been shared with the bands like Paradise Lost, Hypocrisy, Katatonia, Rotting Christ, Ensiferum, Arkona, Skyforger, Susperia.

The new album ÜLESTÕUS is finally released after 7 years of forging, via bands own label Vaarang Records!
Band name: Tharaphita
Location: Tallinn
Genre: black metal
Style: Epic Pagan Black Metal
Founded: 1995
Ank - vocal, guitar C.C.C., Discrucior, Forfeit, Dawn Of Gehenna, Must Missa, Meinardus, Sorts, Suppuration
Benton - guitar Rattler, Dawn Of Gehenna, Winter Night Overture, Manatark, Sorts
Draconic - guitar synth, backing vocal Carnifex, Loits, Manatark, Kantor Voy
Brutalis - bass, backing vocal
Melu - drums Predatory War, Rattler, Solwaig
Previous members:
Kuramus - guitar (2010-2011) MintTaara
Viking - bass (2006-2008) Must Missa, Herald
Massacra - bass,synth on first demo (1995-2006)
Meelis Tauk - session solo guitar on Monsters Of Rock.(Judas Priest cover) (2000) Whaw!Zaiks, Cenotaph, Goresoerd
Axe - Session drums on Monsters Of Rock.(Judas Priest cover) (2000) Meinardus, Marras
Lembetu Mardus - guitar (1996-1999) Decease, Discrucior, Loits, Pirit
A.X. - drums (1995-1997)
Madox - Session drums (1997) Decease, [o3], Echosilence, Suppuration, Horricane
Ülestõus 2014

1. Ülestõus
2. Viimsepäeva koidik
3. Luupainaja
4. Tuhandeaastase orjaöö tuhast
5. Sõnad sõlmedesse
6. Surma-arbujad
7. Tuuled rändavad ringi
8. Terasest taotud teel

Raev / Kui varjud põlevad 2009

1. Raev | mp3
2. Sündinud tules
3. Merekurat | mp3
4. Allpool lund ja jääd
5. Tagasi pimedasse metsa
6. Tumedam kui taevas täis ronki
7. Allpool lund ja jääd
8. Merekurat
9. Tagasi pimedasse metsa
10. Demon's Night

Laukahaud (Mire-grave) 2008

1. Terasest taotud teel
2. Laukahaud
3. Liiva-Annus

Iidsetel sünkjatel radadel 2007

1. Iidsetel sünkjatel radadel | mp3
2. Vahkturm
3. Ristikatk
4. Surmatalv | mp3
5. Loodusviha
6. Hullusesse
7. Raudses haardes

Primeval Force 2005

1. Sorceress | mp3
2. Primeval Force
3. Throne Of Bones
4. 10 000 eestlast | mp3
5. Tongue Of Flame
6. Passing Into Anguish
7. Destroyer Of Soul
8. Manalateekond

Hundiseadus 2003

1. Metsades, soodes ja rabades
2. Hailstormer
3. Hundiseadus

Tumedate Tunnete Kütkeis 2001

1. Tumedate Tunnete Kütkeis
2. Ürgpagan
3. Tuuletallaja
4. Vabanemine
5. Võidelda
6. Välgusüda
7. Rauad on tules

Raev 1998

1. Raev | mp3
2. Sündinud tules
3. Merekurat
4. Tagasi pimedasse metsa
5. Allpool lund ja jääd
6. Tumedam kui taevas täis ronki

Kui Varjud Põlevad 1996

1. Allpool lund ja jääd
2. Merekurat
3. Tagasi pimedasse metsa
4. Demons Night

Tracks on compilations:
First Nails in the Board 2005

1. Metsades, soodes ja rabades
2. Hundiseadus

Unite the Underground World Wide Black Metal War 2004

1. Hundiseadus

Estnische Kriegskameraden 2004

1. Voiceless call of ancestors
2. Must viirastus

Estonian Metal Compilation 2004 - The Beast Released 2004

1. Metsades, soodes ja rabades

Dark Fire Dancing vol4 2001

1. Raev

E-mail: tharaphita.official (at)
Last change: 05-10-2014 added new release
Band has 2 interviews.
Band has 35 reviews.
Band has 2 news.

2004-2020 All rights reserved e-mail us